Bombs, Babies, and the Love of God

The past few weeks have been really difficult for us as a nation. I know that I am one of many who has sat in front of various news outlets, my heart breaking for the hurting and for the general state of this world we live in. From Boston to West to Philadelphia (Gosnell), there have been so many times that I’ve wondered how much longer the Lord will have us wait for his return. The evil seems to be winning sometimes. I want to lose faith in God’s created. But that’s just it – I can’t put faith in God’s created.

There have been many news stories celebrating the helpers, the ones who rushed toward the blast sites in Boston and West. I also applaud those people, and am so thankful for their sacrifice. But more than that I applaud the God who created them, and who reveals his Rescuer character through his image bearers. God hasn’t given up on his creation, and he still puts forth his image through people. He is still making all things new.

I have also been thinking a lot about the love that God allows us to have for each other. I have this beautiful, funny, smart little six-month-old miracle who is sleeping soundly in her crib as I write this. Sometimes when I look at her, there is so much love inside of me that I have to laugh or cry or sing or do something, because I just can’t sit still from the love. It is hard to even express how much love there is. Then I think about all of the moms and dads all over the world who feel that way for their children. Their babies and their teenagers and their adult children. That is a lot of love. And it is nothing compared to how much God loves his children. And that makes me realize that evil is not winning. It is here, but it has never stood a chance.

Image

The moment my life changed forever.

Leave a Reply

